A Demon in My Closet

I sat at my computer this evening and ponder for quite some time about how I was going to write this post. Wanting to give it a sense of creative excellence, I thought about ways in which I could make it profound, charismatic. I changed words and sentences to make things appear more intellectual and thought provoking. I felt inspired and tonight I was going to create the best post ever!

Of course I was trying way to hard and things shattered to pieces all to quickly

The truth is there is no other way to write it than spelling it out clear and simple.

I AM HAUNTED BY THE SCARY IDEA THAT I AM “THE QUITTER.”

“The Quitter” has been playing in mind since I read a post on Kristen Lamb’s blog last night,

“Want to reach new heights as a writer? Learn to Quit.”

The idea that “winners quit all the time,” seemed strange and absurd to me.

But as I finished reading, a sense of awakening had opened within me, I felt lighter and all of a sudden ‘The Quitter” did not seem so negative after all.

If this was the case, then why had I built “The Quitter” up to be some big dark scary demon that lingers over me like a bad smell?

I spent a good portion of my evening with thoughts running through my mind, trying to seem interested in the conversations around me, but really trying to solve the missing pieces of the puzzle. I was in total distress as to why at times in my life when I had decided to quit, because things where just not right, had it made me fall deeper into the dark whole.

The conclusion I have come to is this…

I need to learn to quit the right way. “Detect the difference between quitting a tactic and quitting a dream.” I have to make a choice, know it’s the right choice believe in it and stand by it.

First step, letting go of any predetermined judgements or ideas I have created around “The Quitter” like: I have a fear of failure, therefore I make the decision to quit all to soon, which is absolute madness.

Stop making judgements and live the fabulous life you want to.

“The Quitter” is my friend and together we will succeed.

One thought on “A Demon in My Closet

  1. Sometimes I also find myself in a situation where I’m (over)due to write a blog post but lack ideas. If I try once more and it doesn’t come, I refuse to put excessive pressure on my brain. I will rather spend such time reading other bloggers than a forceful writing.
    I was amazed at Kristien Lamb’s article at first reading but I agree with her in some way.
    Happy blogging!
    -Hope: http://storieswithoutborder.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts.

